submit promo
Peter Oundjian, principal conductor

Friday, October 27, 2017 7:30PM
Woolsey Hall

Peter Oundjian, <i>principal conductor</i>

yale philharmonia

Alumni percussionists Georgi Videnov and Sam Um, winners of the 2017 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition, return to YSM to perform faculty composer Martin Bresnick’s concerto for two marimbas, Grace, on a program that also features the world premiere of the International Bruckner Society’s new edition of the composer’s Eighth Symphony. YSM Professor of Musicology Paul Hawkshaw, who serves on the society’s editorial board and has worked on a new Collected Works Edition of Bruckner’s scores, has said of the Eighth Symphony, “The new edition … corrects enough mistakes in the older print that anyone who knows it well will hear the difference right away. Nevertheless, it is still very much the same score.”

Bresnick: Grace, concerto for two marimbas
Bruckner: Symphony No. 8


Tickets from $10, Yale Faculty/Staff from $8, Students from $5
$3 surcharge on tickets purchased at the door