Ignat Solzhenitsyn, guest conductor

Friday, January 26, 2018 7:30PM
Woolsey Hall

Ignat Solzhenitsyn, <i>guest conductor</i>

yale philharmonia

Ignat Solzhenitsyn, whom The New York Times has described as "an uncommonly thoughtful, communicative musician," leads the magnificent Yale Philharmonia in a program that includes Stravinsky's spellbinding Firebird Suite (1919 version), Paganini's Sonata per la Grand Viola, with 2017 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition winner Josip Kvetek '18MM, and Franck's inventive and affecting Symphony in D minor.

Stravinsky: Firebird Suite (1919 version)
Paganini: Sonata per la Grand Viola, with Josip Kvetek, viola
Franck: Symphony in D minor, FWV 48

Watch a preview video.
Read an interview with violist Josip Kvetek.
Read an interview with guest conductor Ignat Solzhenitsyn.
Read a New Haven Register interview with Josip Kvetek.


Tickets from $10, Yale Faculty/Staff from $8, Students FREE*
$3 surcharge on tickets purchased at the door

*pricing does not apply to purchases made before January 17, 12:00pm

Event Box Office Hours:
Sprague Hall (470 College Street) 11:00am-2:00pm
CLOSED (online sales still available) 2:00pm-5:30pm
Woolsey Hall (500 College Street) 5:30pm-8:00pm

Tickets are still available for this concert. Please come to the Woolsey Hall rotunda to purchase or pick up pre-purchased tickets.